My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

A Pea in My Pod

Yesterday, April 23, 2010, 10:30 a.m. was my first prenatal visit. Mom went with me and I was glad that she could lend her expertise to my experience. However, it was quite funny when the midwife came in to examine me. She took one look at my mother and said that she was a midwife. I was like how did you know? She said I can just tell. I’ve heard that a few times already, but it was related to me and the little pea I was carrying.

After violating me with a long stick (according to my sister-in-law, Kristin) and drawing pints of blood, okay, not really, it was determined that I was 7 weeks preggers. That’s almost two months! I’ve been knocked up for nearly two months (according to Alicia). I am also halfway through my first trimester. You know what that means? It means that this sea of nausea is beginning to dry up. It means that this couch is soon to relinquish its rights to my lethargy. That’s right people, this means that I can eat more than just the fruit and walnut salad at McDonald’s (the crowd goes wild).

So, at seven weeks, the baby is roughly the size of a pea. Growing like crazy, it is starting to sprout eyes, ears, nose, cheeks and a chin. Those little hands and feet- still webbed like paddles- might wiggle by the week’s end, the heart is beating (almost twice as fast as mine!), and blood is starting to circulate. I’m literally carrying an ALIEN!!! (LOL) A precious one, at that. šŸ™‚

Now that I have confirmation that James and I will soon have another mouth to feed . . . . and raise. I made a few phone calls. First to the hubby. I mean he did help make this all possible and then to close family and friends, because after all I’m still quite protective of my right to privacy at this point. Those who I love will know early . . . those who I like will find out and those who I dislike will just see. Point blank, period!

Back to what I was saying . . . I’m preggers!!!!!!!! Everyone and I do mean everyone I have made the announcement to is soooooo freaking excited. One of my friends even mentioned baby shower plans. She’s 8 months pregnant right now, so that comment really made me laugh. I have a feeling though that, yes while I am indeed pregnant, I won’t be the only one carry this baby. It is already loved by soooo many who love and support its parents. “It”? He or they sounds much better, don’t you think? I’m rooting for a boy or boys here . . . but will be just as happy to receive a healthy baby with no complications.

Now, on to more funny comments. I’ve heard people have laughed, some have even screamed on the phone so loud that I had to remove my ear from the receiver. My husband made requests for hand-me-downs already, but good ole Aunt Phyllis shot that down real quick. LOL. People have said that our lives will change . . . my life and body have already changed thank-you-very-much! Aunties and great aunties and play aunties and uncles are ecstatic. Daddy even mentioned that since the baby will be born in December this was going to be the BEST Christmas gift ever. He’s so sweet. Karen mentioned that the baby will be born on her birthday, December 14, one day before our three year anniversary. Auntie Elaine said she’s going to start on the blankets and even mentioned the colors. Got to love her. Johnny said congrats and warned me about the fat jokes. After-all he wouldn’t be himself without the slight jabs during my impending weight accrual. Merv, calm and collect gave a congrats and Ava, well, Ava had a million-and-one questions, but that’s only because she’s a million-times excited.

So, over the course of my little one’s development, I will be taking pics and making sure I keep everyone updated on my progress. I’m going to remain as active as I can and eat as HEALTHY as I can. I fell short yesterday with the McDonald’s, but I managed to keep it down, so I was a winner all the way around.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A Pea in My Pod

  1. WOw!! Congratulations on your pregnancy… Have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

