My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Not Your Mother’s Maternity

I know what you are going to say. These days they have stylish maternity clothes. Yes, this is true, but that doesn’t mean that I want to see myself in them. While I do have a pair of maternity shorts and capris that I can barely fit in at the moment, I can hardly see myself purchasing anything more. Now, don’t get me wrong. If I NEED to dabble in a few items, I will. But these days with empire waste dresses and tops being the norm, I’m home free.

I’m monitoring my weight, which some of you know. I’m not eating for two and I really don’t understand how you could. I mean with Miles’ temporary housing and the rest of my organs, including my stomach being compressed within my abdomen, that’s a pretty hard feat.

I’ve been really snacking a lot lately, eating about 5-6 small meals a day. Which, I think is very helpful. I have my faves like watermelon and mango, which I conveniently found chopped up in nice plaster containers at HEB. I love mixed nuts (with sea salt) by Planters and KIND bars. The name alone speaks for itself. They are the best protein bars ever. They are gluten and wheat free and are packed with lots of nutrition. BUT boy are they expensive. Now, I understand why they sell them at Starbuck’s.

I often wonder if I’m doing all the right things for Miles. I’ve eaten quite terribly the last couple of weeks. I’m talking burgers, fries and pizza. I hope to reign in the more healthy options during my second trimester. I’ve also wondered about how he’s doing in there. I can be a mad woman at times. Last night was game five of the NBA Finals and I was up jumping and encouraging Kobe and at the same time cursing Rondo. Needless to say, I could imagine Miles holding his hands over his ears saying Maaaaaaaaaaaa give me a break here. I’m sure he’ll return the favor later and I’ll be the one holding my hands over my ears or some such thing. Anyway, I wonder what he’ll be like. I wonder every single day.

Early this morning I felt like what I believed to be a little flutter. I believe I felt the baby. I believe Miles gently brushed my abdomen and I think that’s pretty cool. Early morning is when I am the most still and he gently nudged me to let me know that he has graced me with his presence and he’ll be pounding on me later. I better enjoy the subtleties, huh?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

