My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

The Joys and Gains of Pregnancy (an older post)

I just got back from the Dr’s office. It was my third maternity visit and I have to admit, I’m a little depressed. I’ve gained EIGHT pounds in ONE month. I’ve never gained that many pounds this quickly in my entire life. Needless to say, I have not been eating the best or inhaling the most vitamin enriched foods lately. I’ve been stuffing my face with anything I can fit between to toasted buns and condiments. I have to face the fact that, while those dishes tasted good, they are not adding to the health of my child or the slimness of my wasteline.

What did Ms. Ramona say . . . oh yeah . . . “Once the baby is born, it’s no longer baby weight.” (car screeches to a halt) Come again? You heard it right. “Once the baby is BORN, it’s no longer baby weight.” Not six months or even a year later. And let’s face it, all the women that have had children, know how hard it has been or was for them to shed the pregnancy pounds? Answer: HARD AS HELL!

I think this visit served as a warning to me. I don’t want swollen hands, feet or face. I don’t want high blood pressure and I sure as hell don’t want diabetes. SO . . . . . it’s back to eating healthier and working out much more. Thank God for this new elliptical machine. I’m putting the burger and the pizza and the barbecue and the rich macaroni and cheese down and picking up some leafy green stuff or whole grain pasta, which I do have.

Other than that, baby and mommy are doing just fine. Miles will be 15 weeks on Father’s Day, which means he’s roughly the size of a navel orange and forming taste buds. My goal for the next visit will be to not add any more pounds to my repertoire. I will also get a glimpse of my bambino as we will get to experience our very first ultrasound.

Jesus be a gender sleuth and let this baby be in the right position, so we can confirm that we’re have a Miles and not a Miley.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Joys and Gains of Pregnancy (an older post)

  1. Brooke on said:

    yay! You got your elliptical! Sorry so late 🙂 I read your posts in bulk!

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

