My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Boy, What Do We Have Here?

James and I had our first ultrasound on Thursday, yesterday, July 8. We were so excited. The ultrasound technician did the body scan, which took about 20 minutes. All I could hear was click, type, click. James, of course had the best view, right infront of the monitor. He said the baby was really moving!

Anyway, the technician proceeded to tell me that I was 18 weeks and three days along. I thought 18 weeks? You mean, I’m not 17 weeks? I guess by the bundle’s measurements its further along in development than we, including my doctor, thought. I murmured a “wow,” and proceeded to answer her next question. “Do you want to know the sex?” James and I both said “yes!” As soon as the words left my mouth, my heart left my chest. She continued by asking, “well, what do you want?” I proudly said, “a boy!” She muttered,”you want a boy . . . first?” Uh, yeah, I want a boy first. I’ve prayed for the boy, confessed this baby is a boy and believed by faith that this baby is a BOY! (*that’s how we do it at THE LIGHT.)

She carried on with her observation and said that she’ll try to determine the sex, but that she could only do it if the baby cooperates. I was on the gurney ready to bust since I had to drink 32 ounces of water prior to this whole procedure. The ultrasound technician told me that it was okay to go the bathroom to relieve myself, so I waddled off the gurney and bolted for the door. I relieved myself and soon after had a little talking to with my little bun in the oven. I told it that it needed to cooperate today, because we needed to confirm that it was really a he, so we could move on with all this planning we had to do. Needless to say, I laid back on the gurney and let the tech go to work. Little by little the baby spread its little legs and at one point she asked James what he saw . . . I think my husband was too nervous to answer. He was that he might disappoint me if his answer was incorrect. Like a possum caught in the headlights, he didn’t want to make any sudden moves. However, your girl knew different, cause I could see that little thing jutted out between two limbs. “It’s a boy!” I mean, don’t you see his penis? After the confirmation ritual, I turned to the tech and asked her to print the pic for me. Yes, the very pic that unveiled his little private parts. I need it for proof, after-all.

A special thanks goes to those who prayed and agreed or begged and pleaded to the mighty God up above for the joy that has been set before us.

The next day I had to fly out to Nashville for a conference. Yup, me and Miles were taking our first trip abroad. LOL. Abroad? We arrived in Nashville safe and sound and look forward to going home to meet daddy this evening.

Me and Miles at 18 weeks and 4 days

Miles is really active at this point. He’s passing the hours yawning, hiccuping, rolling, twisting, kicking, punching, sucking and swallowing. He’s about the size of a sweet potato. Yup my little spud is growing fast!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Boy, What Do We Have Here?

  1. Brooke on said:

    Awww! My favorite post yet! Still so happy for you, James, and Miles!

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

