My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Pooh on YOU!

That’s right. You heard me . . . Pooh on you! Now, I know that Winnie the Pooh is one of the most recognized Disney characters often associated with babies and toddlers. “Au contraire mon frere,” this “trend” should not be applied to Miles.

A close friend of mine, who is likely planning my baby shower asked me what I don’t want incorporated into my baby shower theme and the first thing that came to mind was that I didn’t want anything for my child that resembled “Winnie the Pooh.” Now, don’t get me wrong, I am a HUGE Winnie the Pooh fan. I even have a 3-foot stuffed Winnie the Pooh, Disney trademarked and all, in my room at my parents’ house. “You still have a room at your parents’ house?” LOL. I digress, the thing is I’d like to let Miles discover Pooh the way I did, by reading about Pooh in his children’s book and watching Pooh on television.

PLUS, Winnie the Pooh decor has really been used and abused by the likes of future parents everywhere. Therefore, it’s obviously clear that we have no desire to follow in their footsteps. We’re looking to incorporate a more modern approach to by bedding and decor and when the room is complete I’ll post some pics, but until then, I’ll just keep you guessing. So, Winnie the Pooh is completely out of the question and that I know is clear.

Sample Winnie the Pooh Crib Bedding

Speaking of baby shower, someone gave me a really good idea. Instead of accompany the gift with a card, one should bring their favorite childhood story. I’ve heard of this type of baby shower idea before, but it was more of a book shower. I think I like the idea of accompanying the gift with a book. One can put a sweet note in the book to little Miles and he would have it forever in his library or he could pass that book down to a sibling, if he’d like.

I’ve already begun purchasing books for Miles. I’ve purchased All About Corduroy and If You Give a Mouse a Cookie. I’m going to begin reading these books to him very soon. My younger brother bought the book Rules for my Unborn Son.

Rules for my Unborn Son

It’s really cute and very retro and gives great advice, including “always wear a tie.” James and I have already read some of the book to Miles and at times we can’t help but laugh, because the book’s advice is taken straight out of the 1960s, but some of the lessons can still be applied today. I hope Miles is listening.

Miles has really been active . . . my last doctor’s visit he measured about 20 weeks the doctor said, but I’m only actually about 19 weeks. Little man is growing fast, but I am hoping his weight tapers of as we get closer to his entry date. I’m not sure about pushing out a 10-pound baby. I think the thought scares me a bit. Okay, maybe a lot.

Baby Miles is about the size of small cantaloupe. During this stage of development, Miles is gulping down several ounces of amniotic fluid every day, both for nutrition and to practice swallowing and digesting. And, these days, those taste buds actually work! Studies show that after birth, babies respond best to tastes they’ve already had via amniotic fluid. Meaning, I should really be thinking about what I’d like Miles to eat as I prepare my own lunch. These next few weeks are going to be critical to his desire for all things healthy.

As he’s developing, I’m preparing and I hope to goodness I can breastfeed my child. I’ve heard many opinions about it and I’ve already instilled in my mind that I’m determined to do it or whatever is best for little Miles. If there is a will there is a way. Lord give me strength and rubber nipples!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

