My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Jumping Jelly Bean

My sweetness is really getting his “move” on. Sometimes I think he’s having a dance party complete with soul train line inside my uterus. He nudged me so hard the other day I saw my belly jump. I politely said Miles, I know you are there, rubbed my belly and continued on with my work.

I rub my belly a lot these days. I rub and talk, talk and rub. I read stories at night and talk to him in the shower. I am constantly trying to reassure him that mommy knows he’s in there. Mommy feels his presence. He may be completely oblivious, so maybe I’m just reassuring myself. James talks to him too. He loves to hear his daddy talk . . . Much more than I do these days. LOL. He’s a proud papa and that’s good. He attends all the doctor’s appointment and if you know James he’s going to do all the research on all the tests that are done to make sure he knows what’s going on . . . well, to make sure WE know what’s going on.

Miles also loves noise, which is good, because his parents are loud and so are his extended family. I play music, he goes nuts. We’re in a loud place, he’s kicking for days. He hears the phone ring, he gets excited. I’m thinking he’ll fit right in.

For now, I constantly review his ultrasound pictures and wonder who he’ll look like? Whose personality will he have? Will he be an active child or a very calm child? Who will he be the closest too? Who’s mannerisms will he have? I hope he’s a mut . . . a complete mix. I read an interview that Julia Roberts did where she talked about her family, most importantly her children. She’s a practicing Hindu who described her children by saying that her and her husband love each other so much that they split into three pieces. James and I love each other so much that we’ve split to create this wonderful human being that we are so anxious and excited to meet.

Miles Lucas 22 Weeks

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

