My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

A cure for stretch marks?

I know there is no such thing as a cure for stretch marks. I know the only thing that can prevent you from getting stretch marks is to gain your pregnancy weight steadily. Some women swear by cocoa butter and all types of oils or homemade remedies.

My last pregnancy, I didn’t get any stretch marks . . . on my stomach, but I did get a few elsewhere. Here I am pregnant with the second baby and I find myself worried about the battle scars I could potentially receive from carry this little bundle of joy.

Am I going to completely ignore the issue or attempt to prevent it?

After reading a tweet from Tia Mowry ( I love the Mowrys) that she used Organic Coconut Oil morning and night, I decided to give it a try. It couldn’t hurt, right?

Nutiva Organic Coconut Oil

Nutiva Organic Coconut Oil

Enters Nutiva Organic Coconut Oil.  I picked it up from my local GNC. Now, mind you. This is the same coconut oil my mother-in-law cooks with. Could it possibly be good for my skin? It absolutely is and it’s even great for my hair. It’s light, not greasy and it smells so good. I’m surprised my husband hasn’t tried to eat me alive.

Here’s to a stretch mark-free pregnancy! Well, one can only hope.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A cure for stretch marks?

  1. Cocoa butter is the traditional remedy for preventing stretch marks so it is no surprise to me that she is using it. The stretch marks form as the skin expands but then she loses the weight and you get lost weight stretch marks.

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

