My Love Below

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Boy or Girl?

Honestly, I could care less about the sex of the baby as long as he or she is healthy. The first time I was pregnant, I really wanted a boy. I mean I prayed for a boy. I saw myself mothering a boy and I knew with everything in me that I was carrying a boy. My nerves were definitely calmed when it was prophesied that I was carrying a boy. Yes, I do believe in prophesy.

Despite all this . . . my intuition is telling me I’m having a girl this time. It could be that this pregnancy is much different than my first. I’m not craving hamburgers and cupcakes. I’m not craving anything at all and I think it’s because I’m having such a difficult time digesting food. What’s even more frustrating is that I’m experiencing the worst hunger pangs an hour or so after I eat. It’s down-right frustrating. There are the usual sleepless nights and fatigue, but I don’t let that stop me from doing anything. In the back of my mind, I can hear my mom say “pregnancy is not an illness” even when I have my husband begging me to sit down. After-all, I’ve got things to do. Clothes and dishes don’t wash themselves and there are those little things that I just enjoy doing, like organizing and tiding spaces. Some would label it nesting. If that was the case, I’d be nesting all the time – pregnant or not. It calms my nerves and prepares me for what may lie ahead. It’s my nature. I’m okay with it.

Now, back to the purpose of this post. . .

The big question is . . . am I having a boy or a girl? One of my coworkers did the necklace test on me a few weeks ago. It determined that I would have three children — one boy, one girl and another boy. I even reviewed the Chinese Gender Chart. Results? Girl. My close friend asked me to check the heartbeat of the baby to determine the sex. I did that last time and based on the heart rate, I was supposed to have a girl.I ended up with a boy. You got to love an old wives tale. The only being that knows what I’m really having is God, but it’s fun to dabble in the unforeseen.

Anyway, I find out on Thursday and I’m really excited. Now-a-days, couples are having gender reveal parties to announce the sex of their babies. Others send out the cutest little announcements. I went over to Pinterest to see what I could find and these were some of my favorites:

Gender Reveal Ideas

1. 2. 3. 4

I Heart Pears also has a list of its top 15 gender reveal ideas. Some of them are really awesome.

Next post should be my big reveal. Any guesses on how you think we’re going to do it? I got some really great inspiration.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Mocha Kid Magazine

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Apartment Therapy | Saving the world, one room at a time

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

Black Girl with Long Hair

Celebrating Natural Hair

Sweet Child of Mine

How I lost my son to Guns 'N Roses

my journey through motherhood and other complex matters

4 Men 1 Lady

a lifestyle blog about the persuit of bringing beauty to a house full of men.

